---
title: "Breaking: #81950 - Remove leftover workspaces unpublishing functionality"
manual: "TYPO3 Core Changelog"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/changelog:breaking-81950"
source: "Changelog/10.0/Breaking-81950-RemoveLeftoverWorkspacesUnpublishingFunctionality.rst"
modified: "2026-09-15T10:46:36+00:00"
---

# Breaking: #81950 - Remove leftover workspaces unpublishing functionality

See [forge#81950](https://forge.typo3.org/issues/81950)

## Description

A property within workspaces for "unpublishing" published records has been disabled since TYPO3 4.5.

This functionality allowed to restore a published workspace which was published at a given time, to revert the changes on another
time, but had side-effects if changes were made between publishing and unpublishing.

However, this functionality was not visible to TYPO3 out of the box, but only available with a possible third-party integration
since TYPO3 4.5. The feature was therefore removed from TYPO3 Core.

The (hidden) database field `sys_workspace.unpublish_time` was removed.

## Impact

Using the functionality will not work anymore, operating on the database with this field will result in a SQL error.

## Affected Installations

Any installation using the workspace functionality with automatic publishing and a third-party extension for unpublishing.

## Migration

If this feature is required for an installation, the field should be re-added by the third-party extension in TCA (which was missing)
and the database which was using the functionality. On top, a custom auto-unpublishing CLI command should be created.
