---
title: "Breaking: #92807 - Removed feature for keeping session data on frontend user logout"
manual: "TYPO3 Core Changelog"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/changelog:breaking-92807"
source: "Changelog/11.0/Breaking-92807-RemovedFeatureForKeepingSessionDataOnFrontendUserLogout.rst"
modified: "2026-09-15T10:46:36+00:00"
---

# Breaking: #92807 - Removed feature for keeping session data on frontend user logout

See [forge#92807](https://forge.typo3.org/issues/92807)

## Description

When a frontend user logged out, the session data was kept
and transferred to an anonymous session when the feature
flag `security.frontend.keepSessionDataOnLogout` was enabled.

Since this functionality is insecure, and was only introduced
to keep backwards-compatibility in a security release, the feature
has been removed completely.

## Impact

When logging out as a frontend user, all session data is now
actively removed and not kept as a new anonymous session.

## Affected Installations

TYPO3 installations having this feature enabled and actively
using this feature, e.g. in cart functionality.

## Migration

It is recommended to build the web application in a way that
the session data is not needed, and instead a frontend user
should know that their session data is lost upon log out.

Make sure to bind user-specific data either to the
frontend user itself, or re-implement this functionality
yourself by using a `logoff()` hook for transferring sessions
to anonymous sessions.
