---
title: "Breaking: #92941 - \"lockToIP\" UserTsConfig option removed"
manual: "TYPO3 Core Changelog"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/changelog:breaking-92941"
source: "Changelog/11.0/Breaking-92941-LockToIPUserTsConfigOptionRemoved.rst"
typo3-version: "11.0"
typo3-major: 11
type: "breaking"
issue: 92941
forge: "https://forge.typo3.org/issues/92941"
tags: ["TSConfig", "PartiallyScanned", "ext:backend"]
rendered: "2026-09-20T18:31:11+00:00"
---

# Breaking: #92941 - "lockToIP" UserTsConfig option removed {#breaking-92941}

See [forge#92941](https://forge.typo3.org/issues/92941)

## Description {#description}

The UserTsConfig setting `options.lockToIP` which allowed Backend
users or usergroups to only be valid when the user was accessing
TYPO3 with a certain IP address / range list, is removed.

Due to the IPv4/IPv6 dilemma "Happy Eyeballs" this feature only
has little use, and should be handled outside the Application instead,
but certainly not work on a per user/group basis.

This option was only used when the global option
`$GLOBALS['TYPO3_CONF_VARS']['BE']['enabledBeUserIPLock']` was enabled, and
could be disabled as system-wide setting where the UserTsConfig setting was
never evaluated anymore.

The global toggle was also removed, as it did not serve any other purposes.

Side note: From a TYPO3-internal request workflow this feature was never part of
the authentication process, as this usually happened after a successful user
login or session activation had happened, overruling any previous Authentication
Services registered. This was due to some ancient architectural decisions
18 years ago when this feature was added.

## Impact {#impact}

When the UserTsConfig setting `options.lockToIP` is set, it will not be
evaluated anymore.

When set, the global configuration flag will be automatically removed when the
Install Tool is accessed.

## Affected Installations {#affected-installations}

TYPO3 installations actively using this option in any UserTsConfig field or
file for Backend users or Backend user groups.

## Migration {#migration}

If this functionality is still needed (mostly in Intranets), this needs to be
implemented as a third-party authentication service to validate an authenticated
user or group to be added to the current user / groups or via a custom PSR-15
middleware.
