---
title: "Feature: #111149 - Remember the chosen workspace preview mode per user"
manual: "TYPO3 Core Changelog"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/changelog:feature-111149-1792768126"
source: "Changelog/15.0/Feature-111149-RememberTheChosenWorkspacePreviewModePerUser.rst"
typo3-version: "15.0"
typo3-major: 15
type: "feature"
issue: 111149
forge: "https://forge.typo3.org/issues/111149"
tags: ["Backend", "ext:workspaces"]
rendered: "2026-10-27T20:58:30+00:00"
---

# Feature: #111149 - Remember the chosen workspace preview mode per user {#feature-111149-1792768126}

See [forge#111149](https://forge.typo3.org/issues/111149)

## Description {#description}

The workspace preview in the backend offers three modes to compare the
workspace version of a page with its live version: a slider between both
versions ("slider"), and the two versions stacked vertically ("vbox") or
side by side ("hbox").

The mode a backend user selects is now stored in the backend user settings
under `workspaces.previewMode` and used as the initial mode when the
workspace preview is opened again. Previously, the preview always started
with the first mode of the page TSconfig option
`workspaces.splitPreviewModes`.

If the stored mode is not allowed for the page by
`workspaces.splitPreviewModes`, the first allowed mode
is used as before.

## Impact {#impact}

Backend users who prefer to compare the versions side by side or stacked no
longer need to switch the preview mode each time they open the workspace
preview.
