---
title: "Feature: #58637 - Purge language packs in language module"
manual: "TYPO3 Core Changelog"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/changelog:feature-58637"
source: "Changelog/8.5/Feature-58637-PurgeLanguagePacksInLanguageModule.rst"
modified: "2026-09-15T10:46:36+00:00"
---

# Feature: #58637 - Purge language packs in language module

See [forge#58637](https://forge.typo3.org/issues/58637)

## Description

The language module in the backend offers the possibility to activate and deactivate language packs.
If deactivating a language pack that previously had been loaded, the data stays in `<labels-path>/<locale>/`.
A remove button has been added to the actions. With the remove action the language is disabled and the data is removed
from the `<labels-path>/<locale>/` directory.

## Impact

The language data can now be removed from the installation file system using the backend user interface.
