---
title: "Saving and reusing export configurations with presets"
manual: "Import / Export"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:presets@main"
source: "Usage/Presets.rst"
rendered: "2026-10-03T08:20:00+00:00"
---

# Saving and reusing export configurations with presets {#presets}

![Save or load an export preset](../Images/AutomaticScreenshots/Presets.png)

Any configuration settings made in the [export module](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:export@main) are not
saved automatically. To reuse export configurations, you need to save them
as presets.

Presets are stored internally in the `tx_impexp_presets` table and can
be included in export files by adding this table to the export.

**Table of content**

-   [Saving a new preset](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:saving-a-new-preset@main)
-   [Loading an existing preset](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:loading-an-existing-preset@main)
-   [Modifying an existing preset](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:modifying-an-existing-preset@main)
-   [Managing preset visibility](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-impexp:managing-preset-visibility@main)

> [!WARNING]
> If you have manually excluded records from export, the `uid` values of
> those exclusions are saved in the preset. This can lead to unexpected
> exclusions if you reuse the preset in another TYPO3 instance.
>
> Therefore, review the excluded records in the "Configuration" tab
> thoroughly when you load a preset.

## Saving a new preset {#presets-save}

To save a new preset:

1.  Go to **Export > File & Preset > Presets**.
1.  Enter a **Title of new preset** (A.1).
1.  Click **Save** (A.2).

## Loading an existing preset {#presets-load}

To load a saved preset:

1.  Select the desired preset from **Select Preset** (B.1).
1.  Click **Load** (B.2).

## Modifying an existing preset {#presets-modify}

To modify an existing preset:

1.  Load the preset as described above.
1.  Make the required changes to the export settings.
1.  Select the same preset again in **Select Preset** (!).
1.  Click **Save** to overwrite the preset.

## Managing preset visibility {#presets-visibility}

Checking **Public** allows any TYPO3 backend user to load this preset.
If left unchecked, only the creator can access the preset.
