---
title: "Users Guide"
manual: "Workspaces"
version: "main"
permalink: "https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-workspaces:users-guide@main"
source: "UsersGuide/Index.rst"
rendered: "2026-10-16T13:05:54+00:00"
---

# Users Guide {#users-guide}

This section covers the workspace-related features in the
backend.

If you have access to more than one workspace, the workspace selector is at
the top of the sidebar, above the module menu. It shows the name of the
current workspace.

![Workspace selector in the sidebar with the open list of the workspaces LIVE, Product launch, Spring campaign, and Translation review](../Images/WorkspaceMenu.png)

Click the workspace selector to open the list of your workspaces. Select a
workspace from the list. TYPO3 then reloads the current module, the page
tree, and the module menu in the selected workspace. A colored line on the
left of each entry shows the color of the workspace. Point to an entry to
see the description of the workspace as a tooltip.

A bar at the top of the backend shows the name of the active workspace in
the color of the workspace. Point to the name to see the description of the
workspace:

![Teal bar with the text "Workspace: Product launch" at the top of the backend](../Images/WorkspaceIndicator.png)

In the LIVE workspace, the bar is only shown if you have access to more than
one workspace. To hide the bar in the LIVE workspace, open the user menu and
select **User Settings**. On the tab **Personalization**,
turn off **Enable workspace Live indicator**. The bar is always shown
in the other workspaces.

An administrator sets the color and the description in the
[workspace record](https://docs.typo3.org/c/typo3/cms-workspaces/main/en-us/Administration/CustomWorkspace/Index.html#custom-workspace-general).

As soon as you start editing inside a workspace, new versions
get created for you.

A page which has a change in the current workspace is highlighted in
the page tree:

![Highlighted page](../Images/ModifiedPageHighlight.png)

The module **WEB > Workspaces** allows you to monitor changes in a
workspace:

![Workspace module overview](../Images/WorkspaceModuleOverview.png)

First of all you get an overview of all changes in the current
workspace and the current page (or below, if so defined). This is
also the control center for reviewing, editing and sending any change
to another stage. All these operations are detailed below. The icons
correspond to the following operations:

1.  *Show changes*: opens the detailed view
1.  *Publish*: publishes the workspace version of that record to live
1.  *Preview element*: opens the preview window
1.  *Edit element*: edits the record
1.  *Open version of page*: switches to the **WEB > Page** module
1.  *Discard*: discards the change
1.  selects the record. Once a records is selected, the two action
    menus at the bottom left become active.

The third menu at the bottom of the view is called the "mass action"
menu ([detailed below](https://docs.typo3.org/permalink/typo3/cms-workspaces:users-guide-mass-action@main)).

You can also switch workspace by clicking on the corresponding tab.

The detailed view opens in a popup with the full history information.

![Viewing details of a change](../Images/WorkspaceModuleChangeDetails.png)

## Previewing content {#users-guide-preview}

When in a workspace, as soon as you hit the "View webpage" button
or use the "Save and view page" action, you will access the workspace
preview. This is also possible straight from the *Workspaces* module,
when clicking on the "Preview element" button.

The workspaces preview is a simultaneous view of the live and
workspace version. The default selection is to show the workspace
version and to display a slider with which it is possible to change
the display to the live version. With the select box in the upper
right corner you can change the mode to - for example - vertical split:

![Workspace split preview](../Images/WorkspaceSplitPreview.png)

Clicking on the "List view" tab leads you to the same view as the
*Workspaces* module.

## Generating a preview link {#users-guide-preview-link}

An additional feature of workspace is that a special preview link
can be generated. It can be shared with anyone, even with people
who have no access whatsoever to the TYPO3 CMS installation. With
this link, people are able to view the page as it appears in the
given workspace.

Simply hit the "Generate page preview links" button in the docheader
and copy the link from the popup window:

![The preview link](../Images/PreviewLink.png)

## Review process {#users-guide-review-process}

Sending a change to another stage in the review process is
achieved via the detailed view popup window:

![Send to another stage](../Images/SendToAnotherStage.png)

The change can either be sent to the next stage or sent
back to the previous one. Once a stage has been selected,
another popup window appears for entering a message:

![Send to stage message](../Images/SendToStageMessage.png)

The messages are visible as comments in the change history.

Once the change reaches the "Ready to publish" stage, anyone with the
proper rights can publish it to the LIVE version, upon which it is
visible on the web site. Note that it is possible for anyone that is allowed to
publish to directly publish from any stage. A change does therefore
not necessary need to have been in all stages.

It is also possible to send a change to another stage by selecting it
in the overview and using the menu at the bottom left:

![Individual stage actions](../Images/IndividualActions.png)

## The mass action menu {#users-guide-mass-action}

You can also publish or discard a **whole workspace** at once with
the third menu at the bottom. This select box – called "Mass
Actions" - is only active when no element is selected:

![Mass actions menu](../Images/MassActionsMenu.png)

> [!IMPORTANT]
> The mass actions affect the **whole workspace**,
> which means even the changes that may not currently be visible in the
> workspaces module because they are not within the currently selected
> branch in the page tree.

## Workspace log {#users-guide-log}

The **system log** will also reflect operations in the workspace. In the
"User" column the name of the workspace appears below the username:

![Workspaces and logging](../Images/WorkspaceLogging.png)
