TYPO3 v8 has reached its end-of-life March 31st, 2020 and is not maintained by the community anymore.

You can order Extended Long Term Support (ELTS) here: TYPO3 ELTS.

Configuration syntax list

These are the main languages TYPO3 uses for configuration:

  • TypoScript syntax is used for TypoScript and TSconfig.

  • TypoScript constant syntax is used for Extension Configuration and for defining constants for TypoScript.

  • Yaml is the configuration language of choice for newer TYPO3 system extensions like rte_ckeditor and form. It has partly replaced TypoScript and TSconfig as configuration languages.

  • XML is used in FlexForms.

  • PHP is used for the $GLOBALS array which includes TCA ($GLOBALS['TCA'], Global Configuration (GLOBALS['TYPO3_CONF_VARS']), User Settings ($GLOBALS['TYPO3_USER_SETTINGS'], etc.

What is most important here, is that TypoScript has its own syntax. And the TypoScript syntax is used for the configuration methods TypoScript and TSconfig. The syntax for both is the same, while the semantics (what variables can be used and what they mean) are not.


Hence, the term TypoScript is used to both define the pure syntax TypoScript and the configuration method TypoScript. These are different things. To avoid confusion, we will use the term "TypoScript syntax" and "TypoScript configuration method", at least in this chapter.

More information can be found in these chapters: