Breaking: #92206 - Remove workspace swapping of elements¶
When using workspaces, putting modified content into the live workspace can be achieved by two methods:
1. Publishing Content is replaced with the live version, and the current live version is removed.
2. Swapping Content is switched (swapped) with the live version, making the current live version the previously versioned content.
Especially when doing
swapping newly created content
TYPO3 will leave the workspace in an inconsistent state.
The swapping mechanism was therefore removed, leaving "Publishing" the only option to select for editors to push content from a workspace into the live website.
The database field
sys_workspace.swap_modes and the TCA option
sys_workspace.swap_modes are removed.
The Workspace module only shows the "Publish" option, as "Swap" is removed.
The auto-publishing feature now always publishes instead of optionally swaps content.
TYPO3 installations which use workspaces with the swapping option activated.
All draft content is using the publishing mechanism, whereas there is no migration needed.